Exclusive List Of Every NBA Dunk Contest Winners By Year

Exclusive List Of Every NBA Dunk Contest Winners By Year - Nate Robinson

Many of you might not know what the NBA Dunk Contest is or who the winners are since 1984. Here is a complete list of all NBA Slam Dunk Contest champions, organized by year. At its 1976 Denver All-Star Game, the American Basketball Association (ABA) introduced the competition.

Only these four players have won the NBA dunk contest back to back in the league’s history; here’s a breakdown:

Nate Robinson is the only NBA player in history to win the dunk contest three times, with the New York Knicks in 2006, 2009, and 2010.

Michael Jordan was the first player to win back-to-back NBA slam dunk contests with the Chicago Bulls in 1987 and 1988. Following Michael Jordan, Jason Richardson won the NBA Slam Dunk Contest back-to-back with the Golden State Warriors in 2002 and 2003. Later, with the Minnesota Timberwolves, Zach LaVine won the dunk contest back to back in 2015 and 2016.

A chosen number of players compete in the NBA Slam Dunk Contest each year during NBA All-Star Weekend to show off their unique and remarkable dunking skills in front of a panel of judges and a live audience. The winner of the competition is the participant who received the highest rating from the judges. Here’s a list of player who has won the most NBA slam dunk contests.

Winners of the NBA Slam Dunk Contest by Year:

2023Mac McClungPhiladelphia 76ers
2022Obi ToppinNew York Knicks
2021Anfernee SimonsPortland Trail Blazers
2020Derrick Jones Jr.Miami Heat
2019Hamidou DialloOklahoma City Thunder
2018Donovan MitchellUtah Jazz
2017Glenn Robinson IIIIndiana Pacers
2016Zach LaVineMinnesota Timberwolves
2015Zach LaVineMinnesota Timberwolves
2014John WallWashington Wizards
2013Terrence RossToronto Raptors
2012Jeremy EvansUtah Jazz
2011Blake GriffinL.A. Clippers
2010Nate RobinsonNew York Knicks
2009Nate RobinsonNew York Knicks
2008Dwight HowardOrlando Magic
2007Gerald GreenBoston Celtics
2006Nate RobinsonNew York Knicks
2005Josh SmithAtlanta Hawks
2004Fred JonesIndiana Pacers
2003Jason RichardsonGolden State Warriors
2002Jason RichardsonGolden State Warriors
2001Desmond MasonSeattle Sonics
2000Vince CarterToronto Raptors
1997Kobe BryantLos Angeles Lakers
1996Brent BarryLos Angeles Lakers
1995Harold MinerMiami Heat
1994Isiah RiderMinnesota Timberwolves
1993Harold MinerMiami Heat
1992Cedric CeballosPhoenix Suns
1991Dee BrownBoston Celtics
1990Dominique WilkinsAtlanta Hawks
1989Kenny WalkerNew York Knicks
1988Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1987Michael JordanChicago Bulls
1986Spud WebbAtlanta Hawks
1985Dominique WilkinsAtlanta Hawks
1984Larry NancePhoenix Suns
Dunk contest winners by year

Who will be in the Dunk Contest 2023?

A few weeks back, Trey Murphy III, a wing player for the New Orleans Pelicans, was declared as the fourth and last participant for the 2023 Slam Dunk Contest, joining Kenyon Martin Jr. of the Houston Rockets, Shaedon Sharpe, a rookie from the Portland Trail Blazers, and Mac McClung from the NBA G League.

Who are the 2023 All-Star captains?

The NBA All-Star starters have been announced, with Milwaukee Bucks Giannis Antetokounmpo and Los Angeles Lakers LeBron James named team captains.

How many Slam Dunk Contests Michael Jordan won?

Michael Jordan won two of the three dunk contests in which he competed, including the most memorable final round in history during his time with the Chicago Bulls in 1987 and 1988.

Michael Jordan slam dunk contests in 1987 and 1988.

Kobe Bryant wins the 1997 NBA Slam Dunk Contest as a rookie

Kobe Bryant wins the 1997 NBA Slam Dunk Contest: Video Credits (ESPN YouTube)

Read also: Youngest NBA Player Ever Drafted In The World Exclusive List


If this article made you gain more knowledge on NBA dunk contest winners please let us know in the comments section below. Content is taken from NBA.com for this page. And the information on our website www.beginbasketball.com is subject to change, we cannot guarantee that it is correct.

Chethan HC

Hello, I am a passionate and dedicated writer with a deep love for Basketball. With years of experience in both creative and technical writing, I have sharpened my skills and developed a unique representative that resonates with readers. I am constantly seeking out new opportunities to challenge myself and grow as a professional writer. In my free time, you can find me lost in a good book, traveling to new and exciting places, or simply enjoying the beauty of nature. I hope you find my blogs informative. Have a nice time ahead, Thank you...!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *